cclogo img img
dot Home
dot News Releases
dot Meetings Calendar
dot Employment
dot Departments
dot Voting Information
dot Online Services
dot Financial Reports
dot Tax Info
dot Office Locations
dot Phone Directory
dot Holidays Schedule
dot Contact Us
dot Request Info (FOIA)
dot County Stats
dot Site Map
dot Links
dot Arts & Entertainment
dot CARTA Transit System
dot County Library
dot County Parks
dot Elections / Voter Registration
dot Greenbelt
dot School District
dot Sex Offenders Search
dot Sheriff's Office
dot Traffic Cam
dot Transportation Sales Tax
dot United Way 24-hour hotline
dot Visitor Information
dot Zoning & Planning


dot City of Charleston
dot City of Folly Beach
dot City of Isle of Palms
dot City of North Charleston
dot Town of Awendaw
dot Town of Hollywood
dot Town of James Island
dot Town of Kiawah Island
dot Town of Lincolnville
dot Town of McClellanville
dot Town of Meggett
dot Town of Mount Pleasant
dot Town of Ravenel
dot Town of Rockville
dot Town of Seabrook Island
dot Town of Sullivan's Island
Handheld   Printer   XML   Email  

Legislative Delegation

Contact Information, Office Hours
Functions, Office Responsibilities
FAQ's, Common Terms, History, Interesting Facts
Delegation Listing, Notary Public Forms, Meetings

Vacancies for Boards and Commissions Appointed
by the Charleston County Legislative Delegation


Citizens' Assistance
Notary Public Applications
Support for Delegation Members

The Charleston County Legislative Delegation Office serves as a liaison between the public, governmental agencies and the 22 elected state legislators who represent Charleston County. Eight state senators and 14 representatives comprise the delegation. This Office processes all Notary Public applications filed by Charleston County residents and provides information about Notary commissions to residents of other counties. Though state-mandated, the Delegation Office is County-funded.

Back to top

This Office Does

dot  Serve as liaison between citizens, agencies and the Legislative Delegation members
dot  Process all Notary Public applications for Charleston County residents
dot  Assist the public with information about other government agencies
dot  Coordinate administrative functions and meetings of the Legislative Delegation
dot  Provide public information on the status of South Carolina legislation, via the Internet

This Office Does Not

dot  Tell constituents who their state senators or representatives are (See Board of Elections and Voter Registration)
dot  Register voters (See Board of Elections and Voter Registration )

Back to top

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How can I become a Notary Public?
A: Applications are available at the Legislative Delegation Office and at Office. Once the application form is completed, have it notarized and return it to the Delegation Office. Attach a check for $25, made payable to the Secretary of State. Endorsement of a Notary application requires the signatures of 11 delegation members. The Delegation Office obtains these signatures and then forwards the application to the Secretary of State's office. When the Notary commission is returned to the applicant, the Clerk of Court must record it within 15 days. There is a $5 recording fee.
Q: How can I find and get in touch with my State Representative or Senator?
A: Contact information is available at and in the State section of Area Contacts link on this website.
Q: I am having problems obtaining service from a local agency. How can your office help?
A: The Delegation Office performs a variety of research and investigative tasks for legislators and constituents. Work is not limited to state agencies and may include contact with private organizations and federal and local government agencies.

Common Terms

Constituent-- A member of a group represented by an elected official.

Notary Commission-- An appointment made by the Governor through the Secretary of State's office designating one as a Notary Public effective for 10 years after the date of issuance.

Notary Public-- A person legally authorized to witness signatures and certify documents.

Back to top


The Charleston County Legislative Delegation is comprised of legislators who represent Charleston County in the S.C. General Assembly. Prior to the creation of Charleston County Council in 1949, members of the Legislative Delegation had the authority to govern the affairs of the County.

The 1975 passage of Act No. 283, S.C. Acts and Joint Resolutions, mandated the creation of County-funded delegation offices to provide administrative support in each of the state's 46 counties.

Interesting Facts

dot  The delegation meets at the call of the Chair. While most meetings are held in Trident Technical College's Student Center, Building 410, Room 212, 7000 Rivers Ave., North Charleston, the delegation also conducts meetings at various sites throughout the county. Meetings are open to the public. For meeting times, call the Delegation Office.
dot This office houses South Carolina's Acts and Joint Resolutions dating back to the late 1800s.

Back to top

Contact Information

2500 City Hall Lane
North Charleston, SC  29406
(843) 740-5855 (Phone)
(843) 308-4794 (Fax)

Mailing address: 
Post Office Box 190016
North Charleston, SC  29419-9016

Office Hours

9 a.m.-5 p.m.

Back to top


dot dot dot dot

E-mail your comments or questions about this site to
Report technical problems with this site to
Scenic photos throughout this site provided by Alterman Studios, Charleston, South Carolina.
This is the official web site for Charleston County Government.
Copyright © 2000-2013, Charleston County, South Carolina. All rights reserved.
Legal Disclaimer |
Refund Disclaimer | Privacy Policy