Berkeley, Charleston And Chesterfield Counties Eligible For FEMA Individual Assistance

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The Federal Emergency Management Agency approved three additional counties for Individual Assistance, allowing survivors who sustained losses to apply for aid in the wake of Hurricane Matthew. Counties approved for FEMA Individual Assistance include: Berkeley, Charleston, and Chesterfield.

Assistance can include money for temporary rental assistance and essential home repairs for primary homes, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help survivors recover from the effects of the disaster.

Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Calhoun, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Horry, Jasper, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, Orangeburg, Sumter and Williamsburg counties were previously designated for Individual Assistance.

Survivors can register online at <u>DisasterAssistance.gov</u> or by calling <u>800-621-3362</u>. Disaster assistance applicants who are deaf or hard of hearing should call <u>800-462-7585</u> (TTY); those who use Video Relay Service may call <u>800-621-3362</u>. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate 7 AM to 10 PM seven days a week until further notice.