

Charleston County News Release

Release Number: 3020 Date: June 4, 2009

Greenbelt Projects: Application Period Opens for Rural and Urban Grants

Transportation Sales Tax funds support greenbelt projects throughout Charleston County

<u>Charleston County's Comprehensive Greenbelt Plan</u> provides guidance for spending the greenbelt portion of the Transportation Sales Tax through both an Urban Grants Program and a Rural Grants Program. The purpose of these grants is to distribute the funding in an equitable manner for the conservation of greenspace in Charleston County.

The application deadline for rural and urban greenbelt grant projects is Friday, July 31, 2009.

Completed applications with required attachments should be mailed or hand-delivered to:

Charleston County Government Attn: Greenbelt Programs 4045 Bridge View Drive, Suite C204 North Charleston, SC 29405

Any applications received after the deadline of 5 p.m. on July 31, 2009, will not be considered for this round of funding. Post marks will not be considered.

A workshop will be held from 9 - 11 a.m. on Friday, June 19, to review the application process and answer questions from potential applicants. The workshop will take place in Charleston County Council's chambers on the second floor of the Lonnie Hamilton, III, Public Services Building (4045 Bridge View Drive; North Charleston, SC 29405).

Attendance at the workshop is not required for application submittal. However, *anyone applying* to either the Urban or Rural Grant Program must schedule a pre-application meeting with staff. This meeting will involve the applicant providing an overview of the proposed project followed with technical assistance by staff. Pre-application meetings may be scheduled by contacting the Greenbelt Programs Director at (843) 202-7204.

An application packet can be requested through the Transportation Sales Tax Web site at www.smallchangeforbigchange.org or by e-mailing the Greenbelt Programs Project Officer, Regina Keene, at rkeene@charlestoncounty.org.

The Greenbelt Bank was established by <u>Charleston County Council</u> to protect land and promote balanced growth in the county.

Summaries of previously approved <u>rural greenbelt projects</u> and <u>urban greenbelt projects</u>, including pictures, are available at www.smallchangeforbigchange.org.

SIDEBAR

 An Eligible Greenbelt Fund Recipient means Charleston County or a municipality in Charleston County; any agency, commission, or instrumentality of the County or municipality within Charleston County; a not-for-profit charitable corporation or trust authorized to do business in this State and organized and operated for natural resource conservation, land conservation, or historic preservation purposes, and having tax-exempt status as a public charity under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, and having the power to acquire, hold, and maintain interests in land for these purposes; an agency or instrumentality of the United States Government; and any other entities as may be approved at the discretion of County Council on a case-by-case basis.

- Greenbelt funds can be used for the acquisition of land and/or purchase of development rights.
- Greenbelt funds may also be used to support the following minor improvements that provide public access and use of conservation lands purchased with Greenbelt monies: boardwalks; unpaved roadways; foot bridges; unpaved small parking areas; and unpaved trails.
- Projects funded with Rural Program monies must occur in the rural area of Charleston County defined by the County's Comprehensive Plan as the municipalities and unincorporated areas that are located outside the Charleston County Urban Surburban Growth Boundary. These areas include the West St. Andrews area in West Ashley; Wadmalaw Island; Edisto Island; the St. Paul's area; Hollywood; Meggett; Ravenel; Rockville; Awendaw; McClellanville; and portions of Johns Island, West Ashley and East Cooper.
- Projects funded with Urban Program monies must occur in the urban area of Charleston County defined by the County's Comprehensive Plan as the municipalities and unincorporated areas that are located within the Charleston County Urban Suburban Growth boundary. The municipalities and unincorporated lands within this boundary include:
 - o City of Charleston
 - City of Folly Beach
 - o City of Isle of Palms
 - City of North Charleston
 - o Town of James Island
 - Town of Kiawah Island
 - Town of Lincolnville
 - Town of Mount Pleasant
 - Town of Seabrook Island
 - Town of Sullivan's Island
 - Unincorporated Charleston County (portions of Johns Island, West Ashley and East Cooper)