Isaac D. Cramer Executive Director Charleston County Board of Voter Registration and Elections



843.744.8683 Fax: 843.974.6419 icramer@charlestoncounty.org 4340 Corporate Road P.O. Box 71419 North Charleston, SC 29415

## Presidential Primaries: Registration Deadlines and Polling Location Changes

Charleston County residents who are U.S. citizens for at least 30 days before Election Day are eligible to vote in either the Democratic or the Republican Presidential Preference Primary (PPP). According to <u>state law</u>, teens who turn 18 on or before November 5, 2024 are eligible to register and participate in one of the presidential preference primaries in February and in the statewide primaries on June 11. Residents do not register by political party in South Carolina and may vote in either PPP, but not both.

## Democratic PPP: Saturday, February 3, 2024, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

- Registration deadline: Thursday, January 4, 2024.
- Early voting: Monday, January 22, 2024 Friday, February 2, 2024. Early voting centers will be closed on Sunday, January 28.
- Absentee Voting: Ballot application deadline is January 23, 2024. Absentee Ballot must be returned by 7 p.m. on Election Day.

## Republican PPP: Saturday, February 24, 2024, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

- Registration deadline: Thursday, January 25, 2024.
- Early voting: Monday, February 12, 2024 Thursday, February 22, 2024. Early voting centers will be closed February 18, and 19.
- Absentee Voting: Ballot application deadline is February 13, 2024. Absentee ballots must be returned by 7 p.m. on Election Day, February 24, 2024.

## Early Voting 8:30 a.m. - 6 p.m.

- Charleston County Board of Voter Registration and Elections Headquarters 4340 Corporate Road, North Charleston, S.C. 29405
- Essex Village Church of Christ
  - 736 Savage Road, Charleston, S.C. 29414
- Wando Mount Pleasant Library
  - 1400 Carolina Park Boulevard, Mount Pleasant, S.C. 29466

The following polling locations are not available for voting on Saturdays, so BVRE will follow <u>state law</u> and combine some polling locations for the Democratic and Republican PPPs. **These are TEMPORARY relocations for ONLY the PPP Primaries.** 

- McClellanville at Lincoln High School moved to:
  - New Wappetaw Presbyterian Chruch, 635 Pinckney St.
- Awendaw Town Hall and Christ Church locations moved to:
  - Berkeley Electric Cooperative (Awendaw), 7200 Highway 17 N
- James Island 5A, 5B, 6, 7, 10 at James Island Charter High School, and James Island 14 at James Island Recreation Center moved to:
  - Stiles Point Elementary, 833 Mikell Dr.
- Mt. Pleasant 1 at Alhambra Hall moved to:
  - Miriam Brown Community Center, 118 Royall Ave
- Mt. Pleasant 18, 19 at Trident Academy moved to:
  - o James B Edwards Elementary School, 855 Von Kolnitz Rd.

- Mt. Pleasant 31, 32, 34 at Point Hope United Methodist Church, Mt. Pleasant 33 at Cario Middle School, and Mt. Pleasant 35 at Mt. Pleasant Recreation Park West Complex moved to:
  - o Jennie Moore Elementary 2725 Bulrush Basket Ln.
- Mt. Pleasant 38 at the Wando Library and Mt. Pleasant 39 at Palmetto Presbyterian Church moved to:
  - Eastbridge Presbyterian Church 1250 Lexington Dr.
- St. Andrews 10, 14, at Pinecrest Baptist Church, and St. Andrews 11, 12, 13, 21 at Charleston County Masonic Center moved to:
  - o C.E. Williams Middle School (North Campus) 1776 William Kennerty Dr.
- St. Andrews 22, 23 at Old. St. Andrews Parish Church moved to:
  - o Montessori Community School 2122 Wood Ave

Residents will vote at their regular polling locations for the statewide primaries in June and for the general election in November. Voters can locate their polling location on <a href="SCVotes.gov">SCVotes.gov</a>.

For more information about Charleston County elections and voter services, or to check your voter registration, visit CHSVotes.gov.