cclogo img img
dot Home
dot News Releases
dot Meetings Calendar
dot Employment
dot Departments
dot Voting Information
dot Online Services
dot Financial Reports
dot Tax Info
dot Office Locations
dot Phone Directory
dot Holidays Schedule
dot Contact Us
dot Request Info (FOIA)
dot County Stats
dot Site Map
dot Links
dot Arts & Entertainment
dot CARTA Transit System
dot County Library
dot County Parks
dot Elections / Voter Registration
dot Greenbelt
dot School District
dot Sex Offenders Search
dot Sheriff's Office
dot Traffic Cam
dot Transportation Sales Tax
dot United Way 24-hour hotline
dot Visitor Information
dot Zoning & Planning


dot City of Charleston
dot City of Folly Beach
dot City of Isle of Palms
dot City of North Charleston
dot Town of Awendaw
dot Town of Hollywood
dot Town of James Island
dot Town of Kiawah Island
dot Town of Lincolnville
dot Town of McClellanville
dot Town of Meggett
dot Town of Mount Pleasant
dot Town of Ravenel
dot Town of Rockville
dot Town of Seabrook Island
dot Town of Sullivan's Island
Handheld   Printer   XML   Email  

County Council


Mark Clark Expressway (I-526) Information:

West Ashley Senior Center:

Boeing incentives package:

Find your Council Member

County Council makes policy decisions for Charleston County, as established in state law. Council's nine members serve four-year staggered terms and are elected from single member districts. Council members serve on a part-time basis and each member receives an annual salary of $14,352. The Council Chairman is allocated an extra $3,000 per year for the performance of extra duties.

County Council generally meets on the first and third Tuesday of each month and holds committee meetings on the Thursday prior to Council meetings. There are seven standing Council committees:

  • Finance
  • Planning/Public Works
  • Public Safety/Health
  • Recycling/Solid Waste
  • Administrative Policy/Rules
  • Economic Development
  • Audit

The public can view the meetings in a variety of ways:

  • Attend the meetings in person
  • Watch them live on the County’s Web site
  • Watch them on Comcast government channel 60 at 7 p.m. on Friday nights following meetings.

Under the S.C. Freedom of Information Act, all meetings are open to the public. Meeting agendas are posted in the Lonnie Hamilton, III, Public Services Building, on this Web site and sent to anyone who requests notice. To be added to Council’s notification list, please contact the Clerk of Council’s office at (843) 958-4030.

The primary areas for which Council is required to set policy are:

  • Establishing the community vision
  • Stating the organizational mission
  • Defining any area of the County Administrator's authority not specifically addressed by state law
  • Organizing the manner by which Council business is conducted.

County Council serves as a link between County government and the citizens, municipalities and agencies located within its boundaries, and also represents the area’s concerns and interests when dealing with other local, state, federal or international governments. Council is responsible for approving an annual budget to fund County operations, including the determination of any necessary taxes or fees.

A Clerk of Council and Deputy Clerk provide administrative support and maintain official records of Council meetings and activities. A County Administrator, hired by Council, is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the County. County Council elects a Chairman annually to act as its spokesperson and preside at its meetings.


Counties were first laid out in South Carolina in 1685 and have undergone many changes since that date. Not until the 1940s did Charleston County government, as we know it today, begin to take shape. In 1948, voters approved a referendum creating a Council-Manager form of government in Charleston County, the first such local government in South Carolina. On January 4, 1949, the newly elected County Council held its first meeting and appointed a County Manager. With passage of the Home Rule Act in the 1970s, Charleston County Council adopted the Council-Administrator form of government.

Contact Information

Clerk of Council Office
Lonnie Hamilton, III, Public Services Building
4045 Bridge View Drive
North Charleston, SC 29405
(843) 958-4030
(843) 958-4035 (Fax)

Office Hours

Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.


Back to top


dot dot dot dot

E-mail your comments or questions about this site to
Report technical problems with this site to
Scenic photos throughout this site provided by Alterman Studios, Charleston, South Carolina.
This is the official web site for Charleston County Government.
Copyright © 2000-2013, Charleston County, South Carolina. All rights reserved.
Legal Disclaimer |
Refund Disclaimer | Privacy Policy